Sydney FC’s 2012/13 draw announced

Sydney FC CEO Tony Pignata has declared the Sky Blues are charging “full steam ahead” to the start of the 2012/13 Hyundai A-League after FFA today announced the fixture list.

Sydney FC CEO Tony Pignata has declared the Sky Blues are charging “full steam ahead” to the start of the 2012/13 Hyundai A-League after FFA today announced the fixture list.

The start of the Sydney Derby, two visits by arch rivals Melbourne Victory and another A-League match at a suburban ground highlight the fixture list for Sydney FC, which begins on Saturday 6 October when the Sky Blues travel to Wellington to take on the Phoenix.

Sydney FC-s Membership Program will also be launched next week.

The first home game of the season will also have an edge with fellow NSW rivals Newcastle Jets coming to Allianz Stadium on 13 October before the first “Sydney Derby” lights up the Hyundai A-League on Saturday 20 October.

The first Sydney Derby at Allianz Stadium will take place on Saturday 15 December.

“There-s a lot for our Members and fans to be excited about with the draw. It-s now full steam ahead to the start of the season,” Pignata said. “We have the first ever Sydney Derby, we host Melbourne Victory twice and we-ll be taking another A-League game to a suburban ground.

“We have 13 home games and now that we have the draw we will put the finishing touches on the Membership program and release those packages early next week.

“It is exciting to have a focus for all of our pre season planning and we look forward to the start of what promises to be a benchmark season, especially for Sydney.”

Tony Pignata will answer questions regarding the draw and Sydney FC matters on twitter tomorrow (Wednesday) between 12.30-1.30pm.

To take part in the twitter conversation, follow us @sydneyfc and go to #SydneyFanChat.

Fans can post questions leading into the #SydneyFanChat or during the hour when Tony is on line.

A longer form of the #SydneyFanChat will also be posted on the Sydney FC website later on Wednesday.

Sydney FC has been handed a good mix of matchday timeslots with four Sunday afternoon clashes (5pm kick off) and seven Saturday matches (four at 5.30pm and three at 7.45pm) with one Friday night game (November 23 v Adelaide) and one Thursday Christmas fixture (27 December).

“We-re happy with the wide range of timings for the matches and we-ll be taking a match to a suburban ground in round 4,” Pignata said. “We are currently speaking to several venues across Sydney and will make an announcement shortly.

“We do have some challenges in terms of a lot of back-to-back matches at Allianz Stadium and the travel associated with two matches away to Perth and two away to Wellington but overall we are excited by what has been released.”

Head Coach Ian Crook echoed Pignata-s thoughts, calling on Sydney football fans to embrace the Derby while looking with excitement at the first home game against Newcastle and acknowledging the challenge in double trips to Perth and Wellington.

“It (the first Sydney Derby) has come early so it-ll be great for both clubs. It-s something that we should embrace,” Crook said. “I think what Melbourne has done with the derby between Heart and Victory has been brilliant. If we can re-create the same kind of atmosphere and feeling within the derby I think it will be brilliant.

“It-s challenging certainly (two matches away in Perth and Wellington). I probably wasn-t expecting Wellington away twice because we were away to them twice last year but it-s a difficult place to go and the same with Perth after the season they have had, so both tough games.”

Sydney FC 2012/13 Fixtures

Saturday 6 Oct - Wellington v Sydney FC - Westpac Stadium 7.30pm Saturday 13 Oct - Sydney FC v Newcastle Jets - Allianz Stadium 5.30pm Saturday 20 Oct - West Sydney v Sydney FC - Venue TBC 7.45pm Sunday 28 Oct - Sydney FC v Perth Glory - Venue TBC 5.00pm Saturday 3 Nov - Central Coast v Sydney FC - Bluetongue Stadium 7.30pm Saturday 10 Nov - Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory - Allianz Stadium 7.45pm Friday 16 Nov - Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC - Suncorp Stadium 7.00pm Friday 23 Nov - Sydney FC v Adelaide United - Allianz Stadium 7.30pm Sunday 2 Dec - Sydney FC v Melbourne Heart - Allianz Stadium 5.00pm Sunday 9 Dec - Wellington v Sydney FC - Westpac Stadium 4.30pm Saturday 15 Dec - Sydney FC v West Sydney - Allianz Stadium 7.45pm Saturday 22 Dec - Newcastle v Sydney FC - Hunter Stadium 5.30pm Thursday 27 Dec - Sydney FC v Central Coast - Allianz Stadium 7.30pm Monday 31 Dec - Adelaide United v Sydney FC - Hindmarsh Stadium 7.30pm Saturday 5 Jan - Perth Glory v Sydney FC - nib Stadium 6.45pm Sunday 13 Jan - Sydney FC v Melbourne Heart - Allianz Stadium 5.00pm Saturday 19 Jan - Sydney FC v Wellington - Allianz Stadium 5.30pm Saturday 26 Jan - Melbourne Victory v Sydney FC - AAMI Park 5.30pm Saturday 2 Feb - Newcastle Jets v Sydney FC - Hunter Stadium 5.30pm Sunday 10 Feb - Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar - Allianz Stadium 5.00pm Saturday 16 Feb - Sydney FC v Adelaide United - Allianz Stadium 5.30pm Sunday 24 Feb - Melbourne Heart v Sydney FC - AAMI Park 5.00pm Saturday 2 Mar - Perth Glory v Sydney FC - Venue TBC (WA) 6.45pm Saturday 9 Mar - Sydney FC v Central Coast - Allianz Stadium 5.30pm Saturday 16 Mar - Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory - Allianz Stadium 7.45pm Saturday 23 Mar - West Sydney v Sydney FC - Venue TBC 7.45pm Thursday 28 Mar - Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC - Suncorp Stadium 7.00pm

Sydney FC-s Membership Program will also be sent out next week. Keep an eye out for details across our social media platforms facebook and twitter.