Sydney FC One Win From Australia's Most Successful Football Club

Reigning Hyundai A-League Champions & Premiers Sydney FC will bid to become the most successful Australian football club in national league history this Sunday when they meet Melbourne City in the Hyundai A-League Grand Final at Bankwest Stadium.

The Sky Blues will become Champions for a record fifth time should they win the showpiece event, surpassing the four titles held by Sydney City, South Melbourne, Marconi Stallions and Melbourne Victory.

No club in national league history has held five Championships and the Sky Blues will add the accolade to the record four Hyundai A-League Premierships they secured this season.

Head Coach Steve Corica believes it will give his players added motivation for the game.

“It would be very special indeed for the club to receive such prestigious recognition and top off what has been an excellent season,” he said.

“There have been some fantastic clubs in Australian football history and to be standing above them all will be a marvellous achievement for everyone connected with Sydney FC.

“However, we have not won anything yet and we will not be celebrating a thing until we have done our job.

“City have shown what a good team they are throughout this season and they are a very dangerous opponent.

“We will need to be at our best to defeat them.”

Milos Ninkovic celebrates a goal at Bankwest Stadium.

Sydney FC can also become only the second team in the Hyundai A-League to win back to back Championships.

Captain Alex Wilkinson, who became the first player in Australian history to win five Premierships, says the players minds are simply on winning.

“To receive those sorts of accolades will be great but we are focused only on winning the game right now.

“If we can do that then we will be able to look back and be proud of the history we have created; however for now we must treat this as any other game.

“We’ve shown over the course of the season we have been the best team and now it is time for us to show it.”

Sydney FC will become the first professional football team to lift a trophy at BankWest Stadium, home of their arch rivals Western Sydney Wanderers, should they win the Hyundai A-League Grand Final this Sunday (kick off 6.30pm).