Bobô & Logarzo Claim Top Gongs At Sky Blue Ball

Sydney FC Premier and Hyundai A-League Golden Boot winner Bobô and Westfield W-League star and Matilda Chloe Logarzo have taken out the top awards at Sydney FC’s glamorous night of nights, the Sky Blue Ball.  

The Brazilian ace, who scored 27 goals in 27 games, claimed the top award the Hyundai A-League Player of the Year, as voted for by a select panel of football and coaching staff in the 2017/18 season.

Westfield Matilda Chloe Logarzo, who had a stand out season guiding the Sky Blues to a fifth W-League Grand Final, was named Westfield W-League Player of the Year.

Our W-League Player of the Year Chloe Logarzo.

Taking home the Sky Blues’ Golden Boot as well, Bobô said he was thrilled with the recognition and paid credit to his team mates for his awards.

“I’m very honoured to be named Player of the Year,” he said.

“I would like to thank all my team mates for their support this season, they have made it a very enjoyable season and have all played a part in these awards.

“I’m very excited now for the journey ahead and what’s in store. We have a very strong squad again and it will only get stronger, we are all very confident of more success.”

W-League Player of the Year Logarzo played a starring role in the Sky Blues’ march to the 2018 Grand Final, scoring three goals and playing 17 key passes including assists, the Westfield Matilda was instrumental in launching attack after attack.

Bobô celebrates his Golden Boot award.

The 23 year old midfielder said she was humbled by the award.

“I was not expecting this award at all, I’m over the moon,” Logarzo said.

“We had a great squad this year, everyone put in when it mattered and that showed with another Finals appearance for Sydney FC.

“The ending wasn’t what we had in mind but we’re all confident of going one better in season 2018/19 and I can’t wait to get started.”

Adrian Mierzejewski took out the Members’ Player of the Year award following his scintillating first season as a Sky Blue, while Lisa De Vanna and Kylie Ledbrook jointly claimed the Westfield W-League Golden Boot.

Jeremy Cox was named U20 Player of the Year while Marco Tilio became the first Rising Star Award winner following his progression through the Sky Blues’ Academy.

Sydney FC Kit Manager Trudi Johnston received the Chairman’s Award from Sydney FC Chairman Scott Barlow, in recognition of her tireless effort in preparing and managing the club’s training and playing kits, ensuring each team is able to get on the field each matchday.

Held at the Event Centre at our Principal Partner The Star, Sydney, guests and VIPs walked the iconic Sky Blue Carpet before moving inside for formalities and an unforgettable evening with entertainment provided by the band.