#BigBlue By The Numbers

The #BigBlue clash between Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory has become one of the greatest games in the Hyundai A-League calendar since starting in the 2005/2006 season.

As two of the biggest clubs in Australian football, this contest never fails to excite when these clubs meet which can be up to four occasions in a regular season (including Finals Series).

With plenty of big games, players and records to come out of the contest as a whole, we take a look at the statistics behind the big fixture.


Played: 51

Sydney FC: 18W 17D 16L

Melbourne Victory: 16W 17D 18L

Kosta Barbarouses is the second highest goalscorer in the fixture.

This fixture has seen the clubs meet on 51 occasions stretching between August 2005 and as recent as November 2019.

Sydney FC have a slight advantage over Melbourne in the fixture winning on 18 occasions, including eight out of the last 10 encounters.

The first ever #BigBlue was held on the August 25th, 2005 at the Sydney Football Stadium where the match ended in a one-all draw. Former Sky Blue marquee signing Dwight Yorke scored the only goal for Sydney FC in the game.

Sydney FC have scored a total of 71 goals in this fixture whereas Melbourne Victory have scored just one more with 72. In this time, the biggest winning margin was by five goals when Sydney FC won 5-0 in 2014 and 6-1 in 2019, and Melbourne Victory won 5-0 in 2005.

The top goal-scorer in the #BigBlue is Melbourne Victory’s Archie Thompson who scored 14 goals. Kosta Barbarouses is in second, scoring six for Victory and one for the Sky Blues.

Sydney FC’s top goal scorers in the fixture come from Alex Brosque, Mark Bridge and David Carney (5).

The most appearances are from Melbourne Victory’s Leigh Broxham who has played in the clash on 40 occasions. The most from a Sky Blues player is Alex Brosque with 31.

Other notable players include:

  • Sebastian Ryall (29), Terry McFlynn (24), Rhyan Grant (18), Milos Ninkovic (16), Brandon O’Neill (15)
  • Archie Thompson (30), Adrian Leijer (24), Kevin Muscat (19), Rodrigo Vargas (18).
The Sky Blues celebrate following their most recent #BigBlue win.

Players have also put on both jerseys in the #BigBlue with the most recent being Kosta Barbarouses and the most appearances for both clubs combined is Sebastian Ryall (3 for Victory and 26 for Sydney FC).

The #BigBlue will take place on Friday 24th January at AAMI Park (kick off 7:30pm AEDT). Watch live on Fox Sports Channel 505, stream on the ‘My Football Live’ app or follow @SydneyFC on Twitter for live updates from the clash.