First Grade


Head Coach – Jim van Weeren

"Jim has been a Head Coach at the Academy since day one. Holding the positions of U15 coach in 2015/16, Jim was charged with the U18 Head Coach position for the 2016/17 and 2017/18, winning the Premiership and the Championship in both seasons. In the past 3 years, Jim has become our NPL/Y-League Head Coach and Senior Academy Manager, helping our top players transition into our A-League Mens squad and overseas. Prior to Sydney FC Jim, spent 5 years at Manly United, gaining valuable experience in their renowned Skill Acquisition Program and as Head Coach of teams in the NPL Youth competition. Since 2013 he was Manly’s Assistant Technical Director, overseeing the development of the club’s playing style from U12 to U16 and the implementation of annual training plans for all squads. Jim holds a Masters Degree in Sports Coaching and has completed his FFA A Licence. Jim also has coached at two of our Academy Schools, Narrabeen Sports High and Endeavour Sports High.

"Over the last ten years, it’s been my job to observe and evaluate coaches and Technical Directors around Australia. I’ve seen Jim at the Academy and I think he is first class. I’ve been very impressed with his coaching style, his obvious rapport with young players and his ability to take on board new ideas and implement them." - words by Academy Director Kelly Cross.

Assistant Coach - Howard Fondyke 

Click here for the 1st Grade team's fixtures & results.

1st Grade Squad:

Calem Nieuwenhof

Callum Talbot

Pat Wood

Anton Mlinaric

Patrick Yazbek

Adam Pavlesic

Clayton Taylor

Adrian Segecic

Joseph Calusic

Jake Girdwood-Reich

Kealey Adamson

Ben Gibson

Corey Hollman

Kai Kamikura

Oscar Priestman

Aidan Simmons

Zac Sapsford

Jayden Trenkoski

Cameron Fong

Stevan Stanic-Floody

Jaiden Kucharski

Nathan Grimaldi

Aaron Gurd